-- 7 July 2002 --

2002 Index


DATE: 7 July 2002
VENUE/SHOW: Malkin Bowl
LOCATION: Vancouver, BC, Canada
SHOW COMMENTS: Supported by Ron Sexsmith


  • A Dream Like Mine
  • Lovers In A Dangerous Time
  • Anything, Anytime, Anywhere
  • The Trouble With Normal
  • When You Give It Away
  • All The Ways I Want You
  • Tokyo
  • Rumours Of Glory
  • My Beat
  • Put It In Your Heart
  • Let The Bad Air Out
  • If I Had A Rocket Launcher
  • Call It Democracy
  • Wondering Where The Lions Are
  • Last Night Of The World
  • World Of Wonders


  • Trickle Down
  • Peggy's Kitchen Wall


    Submitted by Chris and Lin Gibbins. Recording information from David Budd.

    Report from Audrey Pearson: Well, we got soaked in Vancouver. This is the true testament to Bruce's music: You can sit in the rain for an hour and a half and not notice. I headed down to Stanley Park early so I could pedal around and enjoy the park (this was before the rain came). I caught the sound check, which consisted of all new/unrecorded songs, including three I haven't heard any mention of yet. I was only able to write down a
    sentence or so of each:

    "Dances the truth, it's everywhere." I couldn't hear this one too well.

    "The village idiot takes the throne." A political song. Lots of anger in this one. In fact, this song and Trickle Down have the anger in his songs
    I haven't heard for a while.

    "You've got no home in this world of sorrows." I wrote in my notes: "beautiful, complex." This one will takes several listens to absorb all the imagery. It was also to me more "Bruce-like," i.e. the electronica influence is gone. I really liked this one.

    Bruce played his heart out, in part because we were getting soaked. He played Trickle Down, and mentioned an article about economics written by
    John Kenneth Galbraith in the Globe and Mail.

    And Ron Sexsmith is definitely worth checking out. He writes beautiful, intelligent songs. He's a good match to open for Bruce. I can imagine he
    is like Bruce was 25 years ago. Bruce said "Ron writes some really beautiful songs, doesn't he?" Bruce also said he would have been happy to
    spend the evening just thinking about everything Ron said in his songs. Ron's new album will be coming out soon, August or September. He's a
    young one. Definitely someone to watch as he continues along in his career.


    FORMAT: DAT from audience

    Help out! To add material to this page, see this page first.

    2002 Index

    This page is part of The Cockburn Project, a unique website that exists to document the work of Canadian singer-songwriter and musician Bruce Cockburn. The Project archives self-commentary by Cockburn on his songs and music, and supplements this core part of the website with news, tour dates, and other current information.